Thursday Lunch

I failed to mention that I ate a Jimmy John’s #12 yesterday after my Elder Care meeting.  No mayo.

My first job after college graduation (Asbury College, now Asbury University, in tiny Wilmore, Kentucky) was recruiting students to said college.  I traveled the triangle of Chicago, Boston, and Washington, D.C., as 80% of the student body were from outside the state Commonwealth of Kentucky.  I couldn’t believe I got to travel, have meals covered, and make a whopping 17 grand a year.  Good fit for me at the time …

One day, I hurried to Bluegrass Field in Lexington, KY for a flight to Pittsburgh, PA.  I was late but stopped at a Fazoli’s for a quick dinner.  I ordered the platter of baked ziti, lasagna, and fettucini alfredo.  After paying, I turned to get my plasticware, napkin, and drink.  I turned back, grabbed my food, and found a booth.

The food was horrible–cold, clammy, and tasteless.  Angry, I returned to the counter, threw down the plate, and read the riot act to the poor girl behind the counter.  I finished my rant with something like “What should we do now?”.

The girl calmly told me, “Sir, please put the sample back.  Your food will be ready in a minute.”

True story.

6 Comments on “Thursday Lunch”

  1. Debbie says:

    That is funny!!! Something I wouldn’t even do and I have blonde hair!!

  2. The DA Blog says:

    I would tell you a blonde joke, but my sister-in-law might be reading this. I’ll tell you next time I see you.

  3. manutd1711 says:

    What DA didn’t tell you is that the $17k salary helped him purchase a new car.

    That he’s still driving today.


Leave a Reply

