Grow Up

A guy I know is fond of saying, “In times of stress or crisis, just remember that someone has to be the adult”.  Good saying.  Hard to implement.

Years ago, this guy took his 3 young boys to Wal-Mart, and the boys simultaneously melted down in the checkout line.  Adult Dude could not control Little Dudes.  The situation was full-on chaos.

He looked up to see all of the other adults staring at him with the “Man, this guy’s really struggling to control his kids” look on their faces.  At that point in the story, he told me, “Dan, I just reminded myself that someone had to be the adult.

But it wasn’t going to be me.

I turned to the starers and yelled ‘WHAT???  YOUR KIDS LOVE YOU ALL THE TIME????'”.

Here’s a crying child:

5 Comments on “Grow Up”

  1. Debbie says:

    When your children are adults, you’re all drinking and one of them gets out of hand, it’s hard to tell who is even capable of being the adult. Life only gets bigger.

  2. The DA Blog says:

    Perhaps RK could comment about how to maintain “adultness”. He may be more mature than you, me, and DK combined–or perhaps not. I think this argument could go on and on ….

  3. Roger Sahs says:

    I’ll remember this the next time I take thing1 and thing2 to Wally World…I’ll tell everyone about reading about this on your blog as the 10 o’clock news cameras videotape us being pepper sprayed and tasered on the way to the pokey…

  4. […] My external reaction?  I told the brother I’d be happy to meet and discuss the situation.  (Remember the “In times of stress and crisis” post?) […]


Leave a Reply

