I Can’t Think Of A Good Title

Please find below a stream-of-conscious post.  For those of you opposed to that, you can click here.

“A person is not complete until married.  Then he or she is finished …”–T-shirt I saw at a bachelor party years ago.

As a bachelor, I have only observed marriage, but I find interesting the changes people undergo during their marriages.  I know my bro and friends are different after years of marriage.  It changes a person.

All of us change.  For better and for worse.  Sometimes change picks us.  Sometimes we pick change.

A difference exists between the thought of positive change, which can be positive in itself, and actual change, which can be dang hard (unless you undergo bad change, which usually is really fun at the time).  One should not simply generate a positive vibe from thinking about positive change.  One should lift heavily and change.

And change generates its own momentum.  You start a new workout routine and start to tighten up and lose weight?  You work out more because you feel better.  You eat mayonnaise straight from the jar while smoking a joint?  You generate negative momentum, end up feeling like crap,  and may tend to simply say “Screw it” while you head to Costco for the industrial-sized jar of mayonnaise.

Shifting that momentum requires deliberation.  Some say you should admit that your struggles overpower you.  That’s the first step.  Admit you’re too weak.

Absolutely, respectfully disagree.  One should recognize that change is up to me.  I decide.  I am powerful and can change.  Think about that and your family.  Your workday.  Your workouts.  Your life.

Never saw a self-help-book post comin’.   My bad …

 

Here’s a “bad morning commute” photo to lighten things up:

6 Comments on “I Can’t Think Of A Good Title”

  1. Debbie says:

    I don’t think marriage makes you complete, I think someone makes you complete. It can be a friend, a partner, a parent or a child, etc. Being the parent of a gay daughter, I see first hand how a partner and child can make you complete and so very happy. Be who you want to be if it completes you. RK completes me and gave me the opportunity to experience a whole new family. I know, I’m a sap!!!

  2. The DA Blog says:

    But you’re a cool sap …

  3. Roger Sahs says:

    Sure, you bet I’ve changed over the past 19 years. I’ve learned that any husband who wants a happy marriage should learn to keep his mouth shut and his wallet open…..

    Face it, change is inevitable…except from vending machines.

    • The DA Blog says:

      I found a vending machine in Winter Park, CO that would spit out soda and return all your money. You keep winning, you keep playing. I really need to send them five bucks for stealing from them.

  4. NancyK says:

    I’ll admit it….I am weak and have no will power when it comes to potato chips. (among other things) Thankfully I have a great husband that will run out and get me chips at 2:00 in the morning. Man I love that man of mine 🙂


Leave a Reply

