NBA Basketball

I like Larry Bird.  Have since the early 1980’s.

Here’s Larry now.  His plays at 1:13 and 1:41 are very sick (as the kids say).

The upcoming NBA is in jeopardy.  If interested, read more.  If not, I get it.  You’re busy.  Carry on.

12 Comments on “NBA Basketball”

  1. SAR says:

    Game 5 of the 1987 Eastern Conference Finals vs Detroit…Detroit was ahead by 1 when (a still respected hardnosed) Isiah Thomas inbounded the ball. The call goes like this:
    “And, now there’s a steal by Bird! Underneath to DJ who lays it in! Right at one second left! What a play by Bird! Bird stole the inbounding pass, laid it up to DJ, and DJ laid it up and in, and Boston has a one-point lead with one second left! Oh, my! This place is going crazy!”

    I do care about the NBA lockout. I am prolly the only closet NBA fan associated with this blog, but I make time for playoff NBA games. Last year’s games were awesome. No offense to Gonzaga or Butler or Northern Iowa college hoops…

    ISU wins 20 basketball games this year. I promise that.

    • The DA Blog says:

      Love the gravelly-voice Johnny Most. He was quite funny during an international-friendly between Boston and a Russian national team. Can’t find the video, though …

      • SAR says:

        “and he passes it to the little guy…back to Aberdovich…” Yea, I remember that one.

        Quiz: What nicknames did Johnny Most call Rick Mahorn and Jeff Ruland?

    • Roger Sahs says:

      Seriously SAR??? You remember game 5 in 1987?? You were only 8 or something like that at the time! LMAO!

      I like Bird also…he was the only one (or one of very few) NBA players who wished Magic Johnson well via phone after he contracted HIV….

      • The DA Blog says:

        Xavier McDaniel said that Bird broke from a huddle, down 1 with a few seconds to go, and said, “I’m going to catch the ball here, shoot it, make it, and there’s nothing you can do about it.”

        McDaniel said he knew he really could do nothing. Case closed.

  2. The DA Blog says:

    Yup. That’s the one.

    You got me. Please advise.

  3. The DA Blog says:

    Ruland had a really bad mustache as I recall. I think Mahorn coaches in the WNBA.

    • SAR says:

      Laimbeer was a WBNA coach (2003-2006 I think) and was the one of the Bad Boys from Detroit. WNBA…we got next. Ugh, even after 15 years, I rather watch Junior High Boys “B” team basketball than the WNBA. Has nothing to do with being sexist. It is just a poor product to watch. Just because I a good at my job does not mean I am fun to watch either…


Leave a Reply

