The Internal Revenue Service

Please recall that the IRS can award dollars to whistle-blowing employees (up to 30% of the amount recovered from employers who do not correctly remit their taxes).

The starting point is a Form SS-8.

Yeah, I’m That Guy who writes about IRS forms.  Big Time Dork …

I once ate lunch with a meterologist.  She asked me whether her TV-wearing-apparel was an ordinary and necessary business expense and whether she could deduct it on her individual tax return.  I didn’t know the answer, so after lunch I searched the IRS Pubs and found the answer.  The IRS puts wearing apparel on the sliding scale of “Could You versus Would You?”

Could a firefighter wear her flame-retardant gear to a “non-work” event (e.g. a wedding)?  Surely.  Would she?  Probably not.  Now she’s closer to having an ordinary and necessary business expense.

So could the weatherlady wear her canary-yellow pantsuit to a wedding?  Surely.  Would she?  Hmm.  She’s more likely to wear that than firefighter gear, but her argument about an ordinary and necessary business expense is weaker.

I emailed her and attached the IRS Pub.  We didn’t have a second date.  I was a little puzzled.  I’m reasonably good company.  I told a friend about my puzzlement.

Friend:  So she didn’t respond, huh?  Think sending her an IRS Pub had anything to do with that, you pinhead?

Excellent question.  Always think before clicking Send ….

2 Comments on “The Internal Revenue Service”

  1. Roger Sahs says:

    You know…if Heather Tesch from TWC asked me that, I would not have sent her an IRS Pub as “an icebreaker” either…..


Leave a Reply

