Love Affairs

My Toyota Camry was manufactured 2 years before my oldest nephew was born.  He’s a junior in high school.

I continue to drive this car, which has nearly 238,000 miles on it.  My maintenance costs average $50 per month, and its gas mileage is 32 MPG on the highway.

One client of mine owns a local Chevrolet dealership.  He asked about my ride and, upon my response, queried “Are you trying to get into a commercial?”

The transmission is manual, and the car has the original clutch, which amazes people.  I think skipping gears when conditions warrant (e.g. going down a hill) has extended the clutch life–as well as not letting my nephew drive it with much frequency.  He drives it like a stock car.

A clutch is a pretty simple concept.  When you depress the clutch pedal, you have two separated engine components–one spinning dealio and a non-spinning dealio.  When you release the clutch pedal, you bring them together, and now you have spinning tires.   The trick is not to make the spinning dealio spin too quickly (i.e. too much throttle) when you join the non-spinning dealio by releasing the clutch pedal while not killing the engine.

This guy knows clutches.

5 Comments on “Love Affairs”

  1. Tom Proper says:

    My Sky Blue ’92 is still on the road. Chrysler New Yorker that I bought 3 years ago for a grand. Ride it til she dies

  2. The DA Blog says:

    Nice work. I’m getting my 5th timing belt in 2,000 miles. Best thing I’ve ever purchased …

  3. Roger Sahs says:

    If it works…don’t fix it….also applies here.

  4. JJ says:

    I do think you should replace the 8-track


Leave a Reply

