Health

Yesterday, I met a gal who had a heart attack at age 32.  Yup, 32.

Her story:

Her family history includes high cholesterol, which apparently caused a 100% occluded artery in her heart from a relatively early age.

She was pregnant and gave birth to her son.  Eight days later, she was flat-lined on her kitchen floor after having shoulder pain and radiating pains down her arms.  She was rushed to the ER, treated and …

.. is alive and kickin’ today.  Good for Jenny and her kids …

We should evaluate our nutrition and lifestyle:

1)  Eat well;

2) Get a physical–even if we dislike doctors;

3) Exercise;

4) Eat well (did I type that already?);

5) Educate ourselves on health.  Many information sources exist.  Like this.

6) Remind ourselves that people will benefit from us living longer–even if you’re a big jerk like  I.

In sixth grade, I had scarlatina.  That’s low-grade scarlet fever.  Yup, I was living in the middle ages.

I missed ten days of school and one afternoon woke up from a sickie-guy nap.  My regularly-calm-nurse-mother said, “Your skin is green.  Therefore, we’re going to the ER. ”  But first she called our family doctor.

He asked her whether I’d eaten or had anything to drink.  I had not for about two days.

His advice was that I should have any food and any fluid I wanted.  Mom took me to the grocery store, where I ordered Cheetos Cheese Balls and Cherry Kool-Aid.  That sounded good at the time.

I convalesced on that diet for about three days and healed up.

I still have a Level One heart murmur (I think that’s what they call it) from the scarlatina virus that affected a heart value.  That means I have a  valve that doesn’t close completely when my heart pumps blood–so you can hear a little “whoosh” with a stethoscope.  That’s the little bit of blood flowing against the grain.

If you want to read more about scarlet fever, click here.

Time for me to watch more NFL football.  Later.

2 Comments on “Health”

  1. Debbie says:

    Not a heart murmur. The whoosh, or blood that goes back at your heart is called MVP, Mitro Valve Prolapse (sp?). Not life threatening but a pain in the ass when you go to the dentist or need surgery. I know, I have it. Make sure you tell your Dr. you have it, it can be life threatening.

  2. The DA Blog says:

    Debbie:

    Don’t ever contradict my posts again. I’m not interested in the truth. I’m interested in hearing myself type, you big jerk.

    That said, I actually am interested in getting your opinion on this matter–as I think you actually take time to inform yourself about “stuff”.

    DA


Leave a Reply

