Update

My chalazian lives.  It’s smaller but still exists.  I’m thinking about buying it a cell phone so Deb K can talk directly with it.

Last night, Male DK pointed out that my Elkhorn Water Tower post contained some flaws.  Specifically, he noted that I did not account for a change in atmospheric resistance a giant golf ball would experience.  He noted that increasing size would result in an exponential increase in the resistance to the giant ball’s ability to cut through the air.

He may have a point.  But he countered his own point by noting that a giant’s Force (F = M*A) might increase and offset said resistance.  If you recall from high school physics (if you weren’t busy listening to Dion, Elvis, Flock Of Seagulls, or Pitbull and actually paying attention), Force equals Mass times Acceleration.  (MDK did note that formula applies only in a vacuum, not in an atmospheric setting.)  For the sake of argument, let’s assume the giant water tower’s increased Mass increased Force, which offset the increased resistance.  So we’re back to square one.

And why have so few of you just taken my simple questions, run the numbers, and responded with your guesses/answers?  While you’re sitting on the couch, watching football, and eating your third plate of mashed gravy/turkey/potatoes/pumpkin pie, do some arithmetic.  It’ll be good for your brain …

Today’s my 42nd birthday.  I don’t feel a day over 80.  I now understand when older people say, “I don’t feel ___.”  I don’t feel 42.

Today I’m thankful for my family.  My friends.  My job.  My health.  My city, state, and country.  My orange Titleist ballcap.

Check out Mo Cheeks (former Philadelphia 76’er and NBA basketball coach) and this tough little chick singing our national anthem:

EDIT:  I watched this again.  Note that at 0:53 and 0:56, Mo does not let her quit.  And at 1:06, he does not let her quit again.  I think that’s instructive.  Don’t quit when you feel like quitting.  Push through.

4 Comments on “Update”

  1. Debbie says:

    Happy Birthday!! To you and your little buddy you carry around on your eye.

  2. DA says:

    Thanks. My little buddy is behaving. In fact, I believe he’s losing weight!

  3. SAR says:

    And here you can watch Natalie Gilbert get her redemption on Tosh.0.

    http://tosh.comedycentral.com/video-clips/web-redemption—national-anthem-fail

    Please note that she was sick, so that contributed to the fiasco.

    Good talking to you yesterday, DA. Happy belated Birthday and Thanksgiving.

  4. The DA Blog says:

    Thanks, SAR. Good to see you, Kerri, and your progeny yesterday–he had a case of the Natalie’s yesterday.

    Great Great Harvest bread …


Leave a Reply

