Lawyers

My ATL-Lawyer-Friend Bill Pinto sent me this exchange among a Tommy The Prosecutor (and law school classmate of BP), a Public Defender, and the PD’s client:

“Tommy is a prosecutor in Gainesville.  His wife shared this exchange from a recent jury selection.

 Scene:  Jury Selection
P.D:  My client wants to ask you a question.
Tommy:  Alright, what’s your question?
Defendant:  Why do the guys at the jail call you “Tommy Gun”?
Tommy:  You would have to ask them, but it probably isn’t good for you.”
Here’s a TV Judge giving the business to a University of Miami 2L (2nd year law school student).  TV Law can be entertaining–and often inaccurate.  Sorry about the formatting this morning; WordPress is fighting me again:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vnJnA_mt_UA
4 Comments on “Lawyers”

  1. SAR says:

    I have never been selected for actual Jury Duty. I guess that means I am not a ‘peer for trial by.’ Anyhoo, I was once selected to at least show up for jury screening along with another 99 or so people. I went down to the Shelby County Courthouse as I was living in Iowa at the time. Seeing that 12 get selected, it means that I have a 12% chance based on the numbers regardless on my thoughts on the selected question. Note: I was not selected on the merit of answering something related to the Second Amendment. The stay-at-home wife next to me said she was nervous on being selected. If she got selected, it would impose on her ability to watch her two young kids. I gently reminded her that she would not likely get picked…after all it is ~12% chance. She looked at me deadpan and said, “Your math is wrong. We have a 50% chance on getting picked. Either we get picked, or we don’t.” Wow….how do you argue that?

  2. The DA Blog says:

    I like her math. What do you say, SAR? 60% of the time stuff works 100% of the time.

    Or something like that. That’s so confusing even I don’t get it …

    Confusing me is not difficult. I don’t multitask well.

    But I can focus well on one thing at a time … 60% of the time.

  3. Andy says:

    So, I’m curious, because I get all my information about the inside of a courtroom from TV and movies: are you saying that that scene is an accurate reflection of what goes on in a courtroom in the U.S., or an inaccurate one?

    • The DA Blog says:

      I’ve seen judges dress down attorneys and pro se litigants (a party who represents himself or herself) for even minor glitches in the legal process. While that judge really freaked on the guy (in part for dramatic “TV” effect), I actually wondered whether her legal analysis was correct. The guy seemed to be attempting to make the point that someone was given appropriate notice of a legal matter, and she clearly disagreed with him.

      But that doesn’t mean she was correct–that’s why judicial systems have appellate courts.

      Glad to hear from you, Andy. Hope all is well in SA.


Leave a Reply

