Gummy Bears

Who doesn’t like Gummy Bears?  I bought a bag of them for $1.06 after lunch today.

If I eat the entire bag, I’ll consume about 390 calories.  Here’s the upside:  I would process 9 grams of protein.  From Gummy Bears?  Huh?

Ingredients:  Corn Syrup, Sucrose, Gelatin, Citric Acid, Apple Juice Concentrate, Sodium Citrate, Coconut Oil, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Carnauba Wax, Red 40, Yellow 5, and Blue 1.

I’m guessing the protein source is Gelatin.  Or maybe it’s the Yellow 5.

What say you?

The Gummy Bears actually had their own TV series from 1985-1991.  Can’t believe it ran that long ….

And they have a really wacky website:  http://www.gummibar.net/.  The video section will set off your epilepsy.

5 Comments on “Gummy Bears”

  1. SAR says:

    Ah…good ol’ FD&C Yellow #5 – aka Tartrazine, is a synthetic lemon yellow dye used as a food coloring.

    I am pondering having my teeth dyed with this substance as a way to protest Crest White Strips.

  2. Debbie says:

    I wouldn’t put a gummy anything in my mouth, they are slimmy, nasty looking, and disgusting! Eeeeeewwwwww.

    • The DA Blog says:

      DebK:

      We’ll just have to agree to disagree here. I think you’re the first person to dislike Gummy Things.

      You’re not actually eating some organic Gummy Thing (e.g. a worm or a slug). These person-made delights are the perfect compliment to any meal.

  3. Roger says:

    Just soak ’em in your favorite vodka and you won’t give a damn about the ingredients…


Leave a Reply

