Newt

Newt Gingrich is actively pursuing the U.S. Presidency.  Recently, he told a group that he would name John Bolton as U.S. Secretary of State if elected.  Now people are wondering whether Newt broke federal law.

U.S. Code, Title 18, Part I, Chapter 29, Section 599 reads: “Whoever, being a candidate, directly or indirectly promises or pledges the appointment, or the use of his influence or support for the appointment of any person to any public or private position or employment, for the purpose of procuring support in his candidacy shall be fined under this title or imprisoned not more than one year, or both; and if the violation was willful, shall be fined under this title or imprisoned not more than two years, or both.”

Newt argues that this law applies to someone promising a position with the intent of getting that person’s support–not the voters’ support.

When a reporter asked Mitt Romney whether he’d consider naming Rudy Guiliani as U.S. Attorney General, he replied in the affirmative but carefully noted, “I can’t give you any names, of course.”

Man, running for political office must be hard and tiring.

Here’s one of my favorite political moments straight out of the 1984 campaign season:

18 Comments on “Newt”

  1. manutd1711 says:

    Sad that 2 years later, he probably didn’t remember how funny that moment was.

    • The DA Blog says:

      Yeah, that’s a bad disease. I can speak from experience–as you know.

      I’ve encountered funny moments with my Dad from time to time. I hang onto those like gold bars.

    • Roger says:

      Mondale’s campaign was over from that point forward…and Reagan knew it when he took that sip of water…..

      • The DA Blog says:

        The other good Reagan moment was when he was testing a microphone (which happened to be open) not with a “1-2-3” but with “I have just signed legislation outlawing The Soviet Union. We begin bombing in 5 minutes.”

  2. Reagan was one of the great speakers and that’s one of his best lines. Think about what it took to say that. Someone had to come up with the idea to turn that question around. Some writer had to make it funny and playful rather than mean or desperate. Then they had to sell it to campaign higher-ups, maybe even Reagan. It’s not without risk, so it’s a little surprising. And I can’t think of any other candidate that could have pulled it off.

  3. Thriller says:

    I hope Newt is our next Pres.

  4. The DA Blog says:

    Thriller:

    You and quite a few others.

    I would’ve loved to see Indiana Governor Mitch Daniels run. He’s smart and smooth.

  5. Dick Kusleika says:

    I hope Barney Frank runs.

  6. SAR says:

    I find it funny how people are nostalgic for the Reagan era. Doesn’t anyone remember stagflation, ‘just say no to drugs’, douchenozzle Nancy Reagan, and the fact that there were indictments and/or convictions of ~138 administration officials, the largest number for any US President??? Remember that scumbag James Watt? I am just saying that if you want to use the argument that Joe Paterno was the ‘C.O.O.’ of the Penn State athletic program and that he should be held accountable for actions under his watch..then don’t tell me how great Reagan was.

  7. SAR says:

    Cannot argue that point. However, it sounds like the same ideology of the current administration. Throw ‘em all out. Let the mob rule. Good feelings, butterflies, and butterscotches don’t make up for courage of conviction, hard work, and/or intelligence.

    • Roger says:

      Obama is gravely wounding America and its friends. His response to virtually every significant threat or crisis has complicated or worsened the problem or at best, left it no closer to a resolution. He is simply not interested in foreign or defense policy. And he has certainly forgotten the Bedouin proverb…I against my brother,I and my brother against our cousin, my brother and cousin against the neighbors; all of us against the strangers.

      And SAR, regarding mob rule, we’ve already seen that in August in London. It was a 2011 version of “A Clockwork Orange”. That is a future I do not wish to see…

      • The DA Blog says:

        Seems to me most America voters don’t get it. Perhaps I don’t.

        A friend tells me it’s very easy to identify problems and very hard to solve them. I agree with that. Leadership is rare and difficult to stomach.

    • The DA Blog says:

      Also, cannot argue that point. Prez O appoints commissions then ignores their advice? Huh?

      I’m not a Dem; I’m not a Rep. I’m a voter. I just don’t find anyone compelling me to pick her or him.


Leave a Reply

