Wrasslin’

I’ve always enjoyed the pagentry and athleticism of professional wrestling.  From Nick Bockwinkle and Big Bad Bobby Duncan in the 70’s.  From Hulk Hogan and Andre The Giant in the 80’s.  From The Big Show and Rick Flair in the 90’s.

But I think my all time favorite was Randy “Macho Man” Savage.  His impact on his sport can hardly be overstated.  He took wrestling to another level with his athleticism and understanding of how to entertain in and out of the ring.

Bill Simmons wrote a good article following the Macho Man’s passing.  I laughed aloud several times while reading it.

Here’s Randy now with Mean Gene Okerland Okerlund:

4 Comments on “Wrasslin’”

  1. SAR says:

    I have a Mean Gene Okerlund action figure stashed away. Now if I can only find it…

    “You’ve got to admire a man carrying a garbage can.” ~Mean Gene Okerlund

  2. The DA Blog says:

    I just laughed aloud reading your comment. Thanks.

    And Mean Gene thanks you also …

  3. Roger says:

    Ah yes…from Bobby “The Brain” Heenan to Jim “Hacksaw” Reynolds to Jimmy “Superfly” Snuka to Nick Bockwinkel (from Hollywood CA….and his comb) to Greg Gagne/Jim Brunzell to Baron Von Raschke to Maurice “Maddog” Vachon (I have an autographed framed photo I proudly have on my OSU office wall…it is a great conversation piece) to Sgt Slaughter to the Iron Sheik to Cowboy Bob Orton to Rowdy Roddy Piper to Adrian Adonis/Jessie “The Body” Ventura..

    It was fun watching AWA with you and Bill and your dad,,,CA just shaking his head…wondering what would become of his sons and BIL after watching such nonsense….well, it was great entertainment and a fun time growing up. And we didn’t turn out so bad….it’s not like we went out and hit people with metal chairs and put on any “sleeper holds”…ha!

    I show Nick and Nathaniel some of the old clips on YouTube and they look at me like I’m from a different world…like Hollywood CA when I bring out the comb and do my hair….

  4. manutd1711 says:

    Sorry. Mean Gene can’t hold a candle to Gordon Solie. This is from the good ole days of GCW in a studio at Ted Turner’s old Superstation local channel 17 here in Atlanta.


Leave a Reply

