Marriage

No–I’m not announcing my engagement.  If that ever occurs, this blog will be the last to know.

I just watched the NY Giants beat San Francisco by an overtime field goal.  The slow-motion replay showed the holder’s hands catching a low snap–and he wore his wedding ring.

Huh?  Your wedding ring?  Wonder how his wife feels about that.

So for you married people:  Why would you remove your wedding ring?

Certainly to hold a field goal attempt with the Super Bowl on the line, right?

Speaking of wedding rings, they generally are “conditional gifts”.  A guy gives his lady an engagement ring and she breaks it off?  Most states consider that ring the guy’s property.  She can try to sell it to get back at him–but the law is normally on his side.

Unless extenuating circumstances exist.  (Lawyer speak, I realize.)

8 Comments on “Marriage”

  1. Debbie says:

    For married people….It would only be appropriate to remove your wedding ring if you were having an affair with someone else… how tacky to be in bed with someone with your wedding ring on if it wasn’t your spouse!!

    How ironic that I only remove my wedding ring to go to bed with my spouse. RK, to the best of my knowledge and belief, never takes his off.

  2. The DA Blog says:

    Well said, DK.

    What about yardwork? You and RK have a large lawn with copious landscaping. Do you wear your ring then? Don’t you fear it will end up lost in a mulch-pile?

  3. Bob Moragues says:

    Didn’t know this blog entry would be a spoiler! I was watching the game, “time shifted”, when it was tied 17-17, I glanced at this post… Arrgh!

    I don’t have a problem with removing the rings, especially when doing an activity where you might break a finger. I don’t worry too much about it falling off though.

  4. Debbie says:

    Funny you said that, RK lost his original wedding ring this year while doing yard work. We even tried to find it with a metal detector to no avail. So far we’ve been lucky only loosing one, mine has to be pried off every night, I think RK did that on purpose, easy peasy makes you sleazy.

  5. The DA Blog says:

    Ha, DK. The best part? We can laugh behind RK’s back–unless he reads this.

    Where’s that Delete key?

  6. manutd1711 says:

    I take my ring off when I work out. … So I rarely take my ring off!

    Ba dum bum.

    I typically take it off to play sports. Some leagues require the removal of watches, rings, necklaces, etc.


Leave a Reply

