Update

Obviously, I haven’t blogged in quite some time but thought I’d start again.

Three weeks and two days ago, I suffered ventricular fibrillation and ended up in the hospital for nine days.  Based on Creighton University Medical Center doctor’s reports, I nearly died.

Here’s a link about what happened to me:

http://my.clevelandclinic.org/heart/disorders/electric/scd.aspx

I now have an implanted cardioverter defribrillator in my chest wall.  It looks like this.  I’m not the guy in the image.

I’d post an actual photo of my torso, but the scar’s not very impressive.

I’ll update my other goings-on over time.

Hope you are doing well.

DA

14 Comments on “Update”

  1. Craig says:

    You are like Cat – only 6-7 lives left!

  2. Bob Moragues says:

    Dan –

    I am sorry to hear you went through this.
    I hope that you are doing well now and on your way to a full recovery.

    All the best.

    -Bob

    • The DA Blog says:

      Glad to hear from you, Bob. The doctors indicated that my recovery has been textbook-good thanks to many people’s efforts. Good to have good friends and much help along the way.

      Hope all is well with you and your family. Perhaps we will catch up face-to-face one of these days. Let me know when you’re in Omaha again.

  3. Jerry Krat says:

    So, is the photo on the top of the blog what you ate right before your ventricle started fibrillating, or is that a shot of what the surgeons saw on the inside? Glad to hear you’re doing well DA!
    Jer

    • The DA Blog says:

      I suppose I should change the image to some oatmeal and a glass of flaxseed mix! Strangely, the fibrillation is an electrical issue and not so much structural (arterial). But you know all this already …

      Good to hear from you and hope you, Andi, and crew are doing well.

      Dan

  4. Andy Bowen says:

    I for one am very glad you didn’t die. Stay well, Dan.

    • The DA Blog says:

      Thanks, Andy. Those nine days were very weird, but many people contributed to helping me along the way. Recovery is ongoing but textbook-good according to the doctors.

      Stay well yourself.

      DA

  5. Debbie says:

    Glad you survived a very scary ordeal and recovering. Also excited you’re back to blogging. I’ve always enjoyed your blog. I was waiting to run into you in Walmart so I could give you some shit!!

    • The DA Blog says:

      Hey DK:

      Thanks for the note. Some have wondered how I could have a heart problem since attorneys are supposedly heartless.

      I’m more of a SuperTarget guy myself. So you can find me there …

      I’ve kept up with you and RK on your blog and also enjoy your light-hearted and funny posts. Later.

      DA

  6. Steve says:

    Glad you are okay! The world would be a darker place without your brilliance!

  7. Matthew says:

    So, I guess that proposed move to the ATL is out of the question. There is just WAY too much excitement down here, what with Dawgs and the Falcons not being able to beat anything more than a pee-wee football team.

    • The DA Blog says:

      While it’s not entirely out of the question, I suppose my odds of jogging there and surviving are a bit higher than either of those teams making a substantive playoff this year.

      Good to hear from you, MA. Hope the blog gave you a little sense for what I’ve been doing and hope things are well with your family.


Leave a Reply

