Being Human Is Complicated

I’m sick tonight.

Not deathly ill, but enough to make me irritated and irritable.  While I don’t like being sick, it’s better than dying.  And I know a bit about that.  Perhaps you’ve read that post.

Here’s the good news about being human and being sick.  If we were simpler organisms and attacked by the same bacteria or viruses, we’d be more likely to die.  Our immune systems wouldn’t be developed enough to fight off the attack.

We all know that illness symptoms indicate that our immune systems are working.  So the next time you’re sick, just take it as cosmic flattery for being such a complicated organism.

And get some extra sleep.

2 Comments on “Being Human Is Complicated”

  1. Roger says:

    Truth on the complicated organism part…I always tell people at work that it might look like I’m doing nothing, but on the cellular level I’m really quite busy.


Leave a Reply

