2 Hour Segments

Recently, someone suggested to me that I break up my day’s tasks into more manageable pieces.  Instead of thinking about my entire day (or entire life) as one segment, the concept is to break it up into 2-hour segments.  That is: What do I need to accomplish in the next 2 hours?

I decided to try this, as I find myself thinking so far ahead that I become distracted.  (For example, I have my funeral planned already, which isn’t a bad idea given how close I came to it last summer.  And for those of you who are tired of me hyperlinking to this event, I should note that this is the most exciting/interesting/noteworthy event I’ve experienced in my life.  So too bad–you’ll just need to endure me hyperlinking to it. )

(My funeral plan consists of one request:  That my friend Tom play Boston’s “More Than A Feeling” at some point during the funeral, which is my favorite song.  It has no real meaning beyond me liking the song and that a bunch of MIT math geeks play it [Paragraph 5 of this article].)

Thus far, my 2-hour segment experiment is going well.  I (at least) feel more productive, which perhaps results in actual increased productivity due to distraction-reduction.

I recommend that you give it a try.  Or just listen to Boston for 3:16 to take your mind off your pending list.

One Comment on “2 Hour Segments”

  1. Roger says:

    And here I thought it was KISS’ “God of Thunder”…..
    I never saw Boston in concert, btw. But I saw KISS several times at the Omaha Civic…’nuff said.


Leave a Reply

