Your Job

Recently I was reminded of a lesson a learned some time ago about what my “job is”–whatever job it is I have.

My job has three parts:

  • My job is to do my job;
  • My job is to make my supervisor’s job easier–that is, I should anticipate what my “boss” needs in advance and do what I can to make his or her job easier; and
  • My job is to make those who work “under” or “for” me harder–that is, I should teach them to do their job and to teach others what they should do.

And who says you have just one job?

Leave a Reply

