July 23

Since today is the one year anniversary of this noteworthy event, find below an email I sent this morning commemorating the event.

DA

On Jul 23, 2014, at 11:36 AM, Dan Allen wrote:

> One year ago today at approximately 4:00PM, I suffered sudden cardiac arrest at American National Bank in downtown Omaha. Interestingly, I jogged downtown that afternoon to promote my own health.
>
> After nine days at Creighton Medical Center, I was released with a brand-spankin’ new ICD (implanted cardioverter defibrillator) that allows mobility; I now can have cardiac arrest (or specifically, in my case, ventricular fibrillation) on the go and anywhere I want with an increased chance of survival–which is nice.
>
> Since then, several acquaintances have died from sudden cardiac death, which strikes with little or no warning and is frequently fatal unless immediate, emergency medical treatment is available, as it was for me. I consider myself lucky to be alive.
>
> I do want to thank you for your friendship along the way, including those who were able to visit me in the hospital, although I don’t remember much from those first few days. One friend commented, “I knew DA would be OK when he started telling/repeating his corny jokes from his bed.”
>
> Life has many twists and turns. I should note that while I didn’t have any “Aha” moments or see a bright white light, my perspective on what is important has evolved somewhat after being–according to the doctors–1-2 minutes from biting the big one.
>
> If you haven’t experienced a brush with sudden death, don’t veer into oncoming traffic. Suffice it to say that you appreciate certain aspects of life a bit more. For those of you who have been there, you get my drift.
>
> OK, enough of my musing. Who’s up for a greasy pizza?
>
> Stay well.
>
> DA

 

UPDATE:  Another friend reminded me about a cousin visiting me in the hospital.  The cousin told me he loved me and hoped for a quick recovery.  Said cousin knew I would pull out of it when I responded (without opening my eyes), “Man, don’t make this weird.”

 
>
>

One Comment on “July 23”

  1. Uncle Rog says:

    All I can say is…

    Get up
    Everybody’s gonna move their feet
    Get down
    Everybody’s gonna leave their seat
    You gotta lose your mind in Detroit Rock City


Leave a Reply

